Jul 2014 24

Okanagan Athletics Playoff Preview

Posted in Featured, Sports

Photo courtesy of Greystoke Photography

The Okanagan Athletics are back in the post season in the BC Premier Baseball League (BCPBL) for the first time since 2012 when they won the Provincial title.

The Athletics will host the Vancouver Cannons in the best of three series at Elks Stadium beginning on Saturday at 1:00pm.  The winner moves onto the BCPBL Final Four in Whalley.

During the regular season the Athletics met the Cannons in a four game series on June 7-8 and won three of the four games outscoring them 24-13 and outhitting them 26-24.

James Walker led the club with six hits in the series and Sam Avila finished 5-8 with three RBIs.

This is an intriguing match-up and could go either way.  The Athletics finished fourth with 28 wins, while the Cannons finished fifth with 26 victories.

On the bump, the Cannons had a slightly better team ERA at 3.01, while the Athletics finished at 3.29.  The Athletics staff gave up 153 earned runs, the Cannons 138, while the Cannons struck out 237 comparted to the Athletics 229.

Matt Brodt, finished the regular season 5-5 with a 2.59 ERA and struck out 51 in 67.1 innings pitched. He’ll get the start in Game 1.    Brodt threw a complete game against the Cannons on June 8 claiming a 6-1 victory.  He scattered seven hits and struck out eight.

Jared Young will throw Game 2 on Sunday morning at 11:00.  He compiled a 6-3 record with a 2.79 ERA, fanning 60 in 62.2 innings.  He faced the Cannons in June winning 10-5.  He threw 5.2 innings allowed four runs on six hits and struck out five.

Offensively the Athletics scored 240 runs compared to the Cannons 213, although the Cannons had a better batting average and collected five more hits.

Admission to the Athletics playoff series is free at Elks Stadium.  The game times are as follows:

Game 1 – Saturday @ 1:00pm
Game 2 – Sunday @ 11:00am
Game 3 – Sunday @ 1:30pm *If necessary

In other Athletics news, Brodt and Trevor Lofstrom made the cut for Team BC who will compete at this year’s Canada Cup in Saskatoon, August 6-11.

Leave a Reply